Protective orders are a common tool used in Louisiana to force one person to stay away from another. Louisiana has numerous statutes and articles under which a person can ask the court for an order affording them a level of protection.
Louisiana allows for people to seek civil orders of protection through the Domestic Abuse Assistance Act, Protection from Dating Violence Act, Protection from Stalking Act, Protection for Victims of Sexual Assault Act, and Post Separation Family Violence Relief Act. The Louisiana Protective Order Registry (LPOR) was established to enhance court-ordered protections for victims and their minor children in cases involving domestic violence.
If you are dealing with a protective order or have allegedly violated a protective order in Louisiana, turn to attorney Ebonee Norris for help. Ebonee and her team are trial-tested problem solvers who are committed to protecting residents of Shreveport-Bossier.
We understand how stressful it can be when you are served with a protective order or are accused of violating a court order of protection, and we are here to provide understanding legal counsel and aggressive representation.
The Norris Law Group is committed to helping you understand your rights, in regards to protective orders, and is ready to put our experience handling these cases to work for you. Call 318-771-7000 or contact us online to schedule a confidential consultation.
Court orders of protection have specific names that are frequently used interchangeably, but have separate and distinct elements. The four kinds of court orders of protection include:
Louisiana Revised Statute § 14:79 establishes that violation of protective orders is the willful disobedience of:
Louisiana requires law enforcement to use every reasonable means to enforce the orders and injunctions listed above.
The first violation of a protective order conviction that does not involve a battery or crime of violence to the person protected by the order is punishable by a fine of up to $500 or up to six months imprisonment, or both.
A second or subsequent conviction that does not involve a battery or crime of violence against the person protected by the order is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and a minimum of 14 days up to two years imprisonment, at least 14 days of which must be without benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence. A portion of the sentence imposed with benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence must require participation in a court-monitored domestic abuse intervention program.
When violation of court order involves a battery or crime of violence against the person protected by the order, a conviction is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and a minimum of 3 months up to two years imprisonment. At least 30 days of the sentence must be imposed without the benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence. A portion of the sentence will require participation in a court-monitored domestic abuse intervention program.
When an alleged offender is convicted of violating a protective order or an assault or battery upon the person for whose benefit the order is in effect within the five-year period prior to commission of the underlying offense, a conviction is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and a minimum of one year up to five years imprisonment, at least one year of which must be imposed without the benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence.
Were you arrested in Louisiana for an alleged crime of domestic violence or a violation of a protective order? Was a protective order issued against you after a domestic dispute? Turn to a legal team with the right experience and the ability to defend you against the allegations and the restrictions that have been put upon you.
We know that this can be a confusing and stressful time in your life. It is our goal to help you understand your rights and help develop the strongest possible defense on your behalf. You are not alone, and help is available to you. Contact the Norris Law Group immediately, and we can answer your legal questions. Call 318-771-7000 or contact us online to schedule a confidential consultation.