Prostitution Offenses in Louisiana

Prostitution Offenses in Louisiana

Some common prostitution crimes in Louisiana include:

  • Solicitation;
  • Pandering (also known as "pimping");
  • Promoting prostitution;
  • Enticing persons in to prostitution; and,
  • Letting premises.


More thorough descriptions of the prostitution-related offenses are as follows:

It is illegal for any person over seventeen to engage in sexual intercourse with any person under the age of eighteen who is practicing prostitution when the age difference is greater than two years between the two persons.

It is also a crime for any parent or tutor, of a person under eighteen, to knowingly consent to the minor's entrance in the practice of prostitution. An alleged offender cannot use lack of knowledge about the person's age or consent as a defense against this charge.

Soliciting a prostitute: "the soliciting, inviting, inducing, directing, or transporting a person to any place with the intention of promoting prostitution."

Inciting prostitution: the aiding, abetting, or assisting in an enterprise in which customers are charged a fee for services that include prostitution, when the person knows or when a reasonable person in such position should know that his/her actions is for prostitution, and when the proceeded are to be in any way divided for their actions .

Promoting prostitution: the knowing and willful control, supervision, or management of an enterprise for profit. The enterprise entails customers being charged a fee for services which include prostitution, regardless of what portion of the fee is actually for the prostitution services.

Enticing persons into prostitution: when an individual over the age of seventeen entices, places, persuades, encourages, or causes the entrance of another, under 21 years of age, into the practice of prostitution, either by force, threats, promises, or by any other device or scheme. Lack of knowledge of the other person's age is again prohibited as a defense.

It is a crime to maintain, operate, knowingly own, or assist in the operation of a place of prostitution.

What Are the Penalties for Prostitution in Louisiana?

The basic offense of prostitution under Louisiana Revised Statute § 14:82 is punishable as follows:
A first convictions is punishable by:

  • a fine of up to $500 and/or
  • imprisonment for up to six months for a first offense.

A second conviction is punishable by:
  • a minimum fine of $250 up to $2,000 and/or
  • imprisonment for up to two years.

A third and subsequent conviction is punishable by:
  • a minimum fine of $500 to $4,000 and/or
  • imprisonment for up to four years.

Sexual offenses against minors

When a prostitution crime is committed with a person under eighteen, a conviction is punishable by:

  • a fine of up to $50,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 15 years to 50 years.

If the crime is committed with a person under fourteen, a conviction is punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $75,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 25 years to 50 years.

When a prostitution crime involves a person over seventeen allegedly engaging in sexual intercourse, with a person practicing prostitution (under 18), when there is an age difference of greater than two years is punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $50,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 15 years to 50 years.

When the person practicing prostitution is under seventeen, a conviction is punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $75,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 25 years to 50 years
    • 25 years must be served without the benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence.

A parent or tutor, of any person under eighteen, knowingly consenting to a person's entrance or detention, in the practice of prostitution is punishable by:
  • a minimum of 15 years to 50 years imprisonment at hard labor sentence, without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentenc, for the first five years.
    • If the person is under fourteen, the alleged offender must serve a minimum of 10 years of that sentence.

Soliciting for prostitutes is punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $750 and/or
  • imprisonment for up to six months for a first offense.
A second or subsequent conviction is punishable by:
  • a minimum fine of $1,500 up to $2,000 and/or
  • imprisonment for up to one year.
If the individual solicited is under eighteen the offense is punishable by:
  • a minimum fine of $3,000 to $50,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 15 years to 50 years
If the person solicited is under fourteen the crime is punishable by:
  • a fine of $5,000 up to $75,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 25 years to 50 years.

Inciting prostitution, promoting prostitution, and enticing prostitution crimes involving persons under eighteen are punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $50,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 15 years to 50 years.
When any of the crimes involve persons under 14 fourteen, they are punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $75,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 25 years to 50 years.

The state law prohibiting the operation of a place of prostitution, or aiding, abetting, or participating such a violation is punishable by:
  • a minimum fine of $25 up to $500 and/or
  • imprisonment for a minimum of 30 days to six months.
When an offense involves persons under eighteen, a conviction is punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $50,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 15 years to 50 years.
Offenses involving persons under fourteen are punishable by:
  • a fine of up to $75,000 and/or
  • imprisonment at hard labor for a minimum of 25 years to 50 years.

We Will Defend You Against Prostitution Charges

An accusation of prostitution or a related offense can negatively impact your life in numerous ways. A mere accusation could harm your relationships with your family, cost you employment opportunities, and strain valued relationships. Hiring an experienced criminal defense lawyer is crucial to protecting your reputation and your future.

The Norris Law Group will fight aggressively to minimize the impact of these charges on your life. You can take advantage of a thorough, confidential consultation when you call (318) 771-7000 or contact us online.